One girl, one chicken: two minute chicken wrap

30 Oct

Meal five: spicy chicken wrap

I feel like chicken for lunch, like chicken for lunch, chicken for lunch.

No, of course I don’t. I don’t care if I never eat chicken again. I actually really smell like chicken now. But apparently, one meal from the wretched carcass per day isn’t enough. The meat is not disappearing fast enough. I’ve got to up my intake, so lunch it is.

Two-minute chicken wrap

Ingredients
One portion of cold poached chicken
One wrap
Your favourite sauce, dressing or pate (I used mushroom pate in a tube – possibly my favourite foodie guilty pleasure!)
Lettuce
One tomatoe
One spring onion
Salt and pepper

Start – 30 seconds*

Take one wrap (I like wholemeal or seeded) and lay on a plate. Spread with something wet – mayo, hummus, mushroom pate, cream cheese…

31-45 seconds

Shred lettuce and lay down the cenre of the wrap

46-90 seconds

Chop one spring onion and one tomato. Arrange in the centre of the wrap.

91-105 seconds

Shred chicken, add to your narrow pile of food and season with salt and pepper.

106-120 seconds

Roll that wrap! (from Never Enough Thyme)

PS I know this isn’t a very exciting recipe (I’m cringing at even calling it a recipe), but I just wanted to be realistic about how to use up this chicken. But by using your own home-poached chicken meat, you can eat something fresh, tasty and delicious in two minutes which knocks the socks off a shop-bought sarnie or ready meal. I’m planning another post about the wonder of wraps (with actual recipes!) soon.

* Obviously, I haven’t timed any of this. That would be ridiculous.

Leave a comment